#37 new year resolutions

“…things get broken, and sometimes they get repaired, and in most cases, you realize that no matter what gets damaged, life rearranges itself to compensate for your loss, sometimes wonderfully.” – Hanya Yanagihara, A Little Life

It’s the time of the year to reflect on 2016. 2016 has been a steep learning curve and more often than not, I hope for more mentors in my life to advise me on the best course of action. But I guess in life, you don’t always get what you want. 2016 is also the year of unexpected losses and unexpected changes. Life has to go on. There are good things as well: the uninhibited travels in Asia and Europe, people who thank me for making a difference in their lives, new friends coming into my life and old friends becoming very important in my life again. Maybe I just need to be more patient and have faith that things will work out eventually no matter how bleak it seems right now. It takes time for life to rearrange itself but it is worth the wait. Things will be different but things will be fine, perhaps wonderful, eventually in a way that I can’t foresee right now.

Like what I said to a friend a few days ago, unhappiness tends to be loud and obvious; happiness tends to be quiet. As such, it is easy to allow unhappiness to drain us of emotional energy reserves and it takes a lot more effort to notice happy moments. I hope as I grow older, I can learn to savour and enjoy the quiet happy times.

I have made several mistakes this year. We can’t change or undo the past but we can learn from the past and strive to be a better person in the future. That’s what I plan to do.

1) Appreciate and love the people who are dearest to you.

2) Not every thought needs to be spoken. Think before speaking.

3) Accept things that cannot be changed.

4) Some things need time while some other things are not the priority. You don’t need to hurry everything.

5) Be more disciplined and try not to succumb to laziness. Execute plans as scheduled.

6) Own your story. Don’t be shy or ashamed of who you are.

7) Try not to bring work-related unhappiness home.

8) Gossip less.

9) Spend less time on social media.

10) Write your book.

Leave a Reply

