#31 for you, a thousand times over 

“For you, a thousand times over.” – Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

That’s easier said than done. In future tense, there are many things that I am willing to do for you. I want to be the hero in your life. I want to help you to see meaning in living on. I want to see you through thick and thin.

But in past tense, there were so many instances that I did not do enough for you. There were times when I could but I did not. My ego and my pride got in the way. I thought more about what you could be instead of accepting and loving you as who you are.

Maybe I overestimate my own ability but I want to try again. I will be patient, I will be relentless and I will put my ego aside. 

For you,  thousand times over. In this journey with you, I will make mistakes, I will cry and I will feel bad about myself. But I will try again a thousand times over to reach you like the waves that relentlessly crash against the shore or the Earth that goes round the Sun without fail. 

And that is, my friend, the most I have ever done for another human being. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

