#25 6 years

It just struck me how long 6 years are.

6 years ago, our friendship began. Since then, we have grown and changed so much. 6 years ago, the idea of going abroad scared us but look, how far we have come. Look at how much of the world we have seen. Between the two of us, we have spent about 2 years abroad in so many different countries. Look at all the places we have been and all the things that we have experienced from chasing the northern lights in Finland to riding a bicycle down a dust road in Myanmar. We uttered “you only live once” when we did things on impulse on trips.

We utttered “you only live once” to get us through piles of work too. Beside travelling, in the past 6 years, we have freaked out over research projects, papers and lab reports. We have learnt that as much as we hate the work in the university, those years are our best years. We have learnt that the playing field of the working world is not level and dirtier. We learnt the hard way that “if you choose a job you love, you never have to work a single day of your life” is just a rose-tainted fantasy. There is no perfect job waiting to be found. You choose a job and it’s the growth mindset that keeps you through the ups and downs of the job. We had our share of boy problems too.

Between us, so much has happened too. We were close, very close and then we fought and fell apart at some point. Thankfully, we managed to continue our friendship after that.  You have seen me at some of my worst moments- my depressed side, my petty side and my insecure side. We discuss a lot on philosophical and abstract topics and I really like the person I am when I am with you.

I can’t believe that so many things can happen to me in the course of 6 years. I wonder how the next 6 years will change me.

Leave a Reply

