#2: zero to one

R: I read a book “Zero to One” by Peter Thiel recently and there is one question in the book that’s pretty thought-provoking. Let me ask you the question. What important truth do very few people agree with you on?

Me: That’s a tough question. Let me think about it. 

It was a beautiful summer afternoon and we were having a picnic at Primrose Hill. There were many different kinds of people around us – people making out, people drinking away, people chilling around (just like us) and children running around on the grass etc. What can be possibly in my head but not in theirs? I know I am a unique individual but are my thoughts as unique as I would like it to be? After all, we are all humans and our fundamental needs and wants are similar. It was a big question, I did not have a good answer so I just spoke my mind.

Me: For me, I think I believe that there is something to learn from everyone no matter who they are. Perhaps not many people think like that. I cannot be sure.

R: I believe in that as well. But I think it can be difficult to execute, especially when some people think very differently from the way you do. 

 

Looking back, I think it is quite funny how two young adults had such a deep conversation in this beautiful setting. I think this conversation nicely encapsulates the challenges of learning from others. I need to stop denying the opinions of others just because they are different from mine.

“Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don’t.” – Bill Ryes

20150711_142214

 

Leave a Reply

