21st birthday.

When I was younger, I used to imagine what I would do on my 21st birthday. I imagined myself throwing a party just like what my cousins did and I imagined myself inviting all my friends over to my house for a big party. Now my 21st has come and gone and I must say it was nothing close to what I have imagined it to be. It was a fun day but most importantly, it was very special because I spent the day with lovely people who came from different parts of the world. I can’t help but to think that when my 22nd comes, these people will be scattered all over the world. Now to think about it, the 6th December was just like any other day in Hongkong – fun, packed, spontaneous. But because it is the 21st, it deserves a little more attention.  This is how it went:

8.30 am. On my way out of the hall, I saw a paper bag and a card in our mailbox and they were presents from Constanza. I still do not know how she managed to place them in the mailbox without me noticing. It was a very nice way to start the day.:)

10 am. I sat for my Inorganic Chemistry quiz. It was not too difficult but I was just not motivated to do the quiz because I did not like the idea of sitting for a quiz on my birthday. I was glad that it was over quickly.

10.30am. I went to the Monkey Hill with Jennifer. It was a Thursday morning so the place was quite empty which makes it a very nice getaway from the hustle and bustle for us. We followed a nature trail and tried to be botanists as we plucked the leaves and flowers and smelled them so it was quite fun. Then, we joined this group of old people who were also hiking and we crossed three country parks with them. What I remember best from the hike was that Jennifer was pickpocketed by a monkey which reached for the side pocket of her bag. She shoved the monkey away and it became quite intense as that monkey and many of his friends moved towards us. That was quite an adventure.:) I also remember us sitting at the mini bus stop (it took us such a long while to reach the bus stop) and eating the birthday cake. The minibus dropped us at the other end of Kowloon, Tsuen Wan and it was quite incredible how we started the day at Prince Edward MTR and ended up all the way at Tsuen Wan. Just when we thought our adventure for the day was over, we ended up having some difficulties looking for the MTR at Tsuen Wan. It’s also interesting how similar the different districts look in Hongkong, I thought that the buildings at Tsuen Wan, at least the flats, look a lot like those in Wong Tai Sin/ Choi Hung area.

monkey hill

7.30pm. I went to the California Pizza Kitchen at Tseung Kwan O for dinner with the good friends that I have made in hong kong. Almost everyone whom I am close to in hongkong were there: Sylvia, Jingying, Jennifer, Lex, Constanza, Eva, Cecile, Muriel and Lauri. As it was the final week of school and everyone had so many deadlines, I was quite touched that everyone took time off their work and came for the dinner.:) I wonder when will be the next time I can share a table with any one of them again. And it was also a very precious experience for me because I had the birthday song sung in many different languages -English, Dutch, Spainish, French and Finnish. It kind of sums up my exchange experience in a sense because I find myself immersed in this global community in HKUST. Because I know them, I feel that the world is alot smaller than what I used to imagine it to be. I would really love to visit them sometime soon.

10.30pm. I went to Lan Kwai Fong with Constanza, Eva, Cecile, Muriel and Lauri and we met up with many other exchange students there at the favourite bar called 7-11. Now to think about it, it was probably quite a funny sight to see so many exchange students hanging around and drinking beer outside 7-11.

lkf

It was definitely a birthday to remember 😀

Leave a Reply

